Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Depression and Isolation

Depression gets everyone down. This poem shows signs of depression and self isolation

By Daniel CottlesPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Depression and Isolation
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Getting knocked down

Is it worth getting up?

This world is on my shoulders

But my legs don’t feel that tuff

I can’t keep going

That’s what I tell myself

They say “hold your head up!”

But it feels like I’m going through hell

No clouds are in the sky

But there’s no light shining

Nothing but peace

So why do I feel

Like a storm is over me

I’m getting suffocated

I haven’t got out of bed in weeks

I want to move

But I feel so weak

I need to not be a waste

I need to get my life in place

But today is not the day

A few weeks later

I decided to take a stroll

Only out for 15 minutes

But it drained my body and soul

The tiredness took its toll

Now I don’t want anything anymore

My family concerned

Trying to help,

But in rage, I just want everything to rot in hell

Rage and dullness

I now only feel

I feel like it’s too late to heal

I no longer want

And I don’t care about needs

I feel like a waste to society

All of this could end

And the possibilities my mind ponders

I see a sharp knife

I take in my hand

I could rest in peace

This dull life can come to an end

The knife enters slowly

My heart beats rapidly

I’m starting to feel something

No coming back to reality

“Stop!” My friend yelled

I sit in silence

He was here out of fear for my safety

If he was one moment too late

I wouldn’t be here today

I wanted more pain

I was getting a rush from the feeling

The rush felt good

Finally something that felt good

I got help and no longer self harming

This side of my story isn’t charming

But it’s a story I want to share

Hopefully this reaches to someone

Who lost there need to care

You’re not alone

If you or a loved one are showing signs of depression, please reach out.

Toll free number: 988

For veterans: 988 then press 1

CONTENT WARNINGsurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Nice piece ♥️💯✌️📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.