Poets logo

Depot

A poem for the over thinkers

By Kaylee SkinnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Depot
Photo by Julia Kadel on Unsplash

A train station sits

At the heart of a bustling city

Buzzing with thoughts and feelings

Drenched in dreams and Nightmares

A woman

Wearing a peach colored petticoat and Chanel No. 5

She is fear

She is anxiety

She’s getting on the 6 train

A man

Draped in patched cargo pants and dirt

He is desperation

He is raw anger

He's waiting for the 3 train

Two children

Holding the hands of their mother

They are hope

They are joy

They’re missing the 7 train

Always coming and going

Rarely stopping, rarely resting

Rarely giving me a chance to catch my breath

They are euphoria and I smile

They are devastation and I sob

They are too loud and I shutter

One million train tracks

They meet, then diverge

One million railroad cars

They shout, then screech

Torturous and consuming

One screech

One thought

One dream

One nightmare

At a time

One million train tracks

Meeting, diverging, speeding on

Running

Running

Running through the city in my head

Passengers are weary

Infrastructure is crumbling

Stations are too full of too loud people

And still trains are trekking with no end in sight

And still my brain is running

With no destination to call home

Running and running

With nowhere to go

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kaylee Skinner

A mere cat loving poet, writing my way through life. If you enjoy a story of mine give it some love or send me a tip so I can keep sharing! (:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.