Poets logo

Feasting

At this eternal table

By Kaylee SkinnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Feasting
Photo by Christopher Ott on Unsplash

I sit alone

At this eternal table

Fists unfurling, palms open and offering

Pools of grief fermenting the taste of dead men's spit and expired blood

A silver platter

Your heart is beating upon

A steak knife

My hand is using to navigate the rot

Of these pain riddled veins

A china cup

Overflowing with steamed sorrow

Fervently I am eating and drinking

Biting down bitter, harder and harder

Chewing and chewing

Until I taste broken enamel and a burnt throat

Lapping up the poison I've dredged from your bones

I consume and I become

A chalice full of every memory hurting to the surface in your mind

Stinging so sweetly

Bruising so brightly

Even your darkest thoughts, your deepest wounds

Eagerly I am tasting

I will eat your pain like this

Until my tongue fails, until my jaw breaks

If it means your burden

Is ever slighter

If it means your heart

Is ever lighter

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kaylee Skinner

A mere cat loving poet, writing my way through life. If you enjoy a story of mine give it some love or send me a tip so I can keep sharing! (:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.