Poets logo

DEMONS

No longer at ease

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
DEMONS
Photo by Mishal Ibrahim on Unsplash

I used to think that taming your inner demons was a matter of transcending them. I used to believe that the gnawing notion of "not good enough" would be silenced when I was able to move past my mind’s eye because of course, our inner demons do not base their case in reality.

Our inner demons strike us at our sore spots. They recite to us all the things that we fear people will interpret us to be. They keep us stuck in the place where what other people perceive is reality, though of course, those perceptions are extensions of those people, and the ones are ours.

I thought they would dissolve as soon as I stopped looking at my life analytically and started going through the motions as the person experiencing my thoughts and feelings, not the person who is my thoughts and feelings.

But what I came to realize is that every part of you must work in tandem. And as soon as I needed to do something requiring thought and process, I was back to square one.

It's nothing to get over and it's nothing to disregard. It's only something to acknowledge and understand and then cultivate differently. Because mindset is cultivation, and to that end, it is ultimately a choice.

We can change it, If we don't we will remain on the whim of other people's actions and our own irrational gremlins that do nothing but prevent us from living out what we know to be true.

And when these two forces collide and disrupt one another, we'll find ourselves in the pits of anxiety and depression, because something is trying to make its way out of us, and something else is preventing it from doing so.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Demons do seek out our weakest spots and play on it. Your story aptly points out the mid journey between the two and finding the strength to overcome. Very well said.

  • Whoaaa, this was just so deep! You wrote this so beautifully!

  • harry henry10 months ago

    Very inspired! Great article

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.