Poets logo

Defeated

By: Karlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Courtesy of Artist S. Kayne 2021

1.

Darkened room covered in spatters of troubling trauma

Body bitterly battered, bruised and cruelly shattered

Now a soulless vessel robbed of its brightly beaming aura

A lake of red river runs to free the cracked mind

Sounds and noises, of lots of odd & frightening voices

I am destroyed and left behind.

2.

Carefully calculated and calibrated was your every thought

You traded in Me, paid with Me then left me like a bag of salt

Nothing was done to protect Me from the Evil they would do

Tortured and abused, molested and used without so much as an after-thought.

I believed in Us, the bond that was meant to be unbreakable

Saw You for You and loved You too, only to shatter my own heart.

3.

Recovery seems impossible, unthinkable, unbelievable

Covered in spit and blood, I lay waiting for Reaper

To free Me from this pain, and life’s gruesome plane

I become an eternal sleeper, as the red river’s flow increases

Dark becomes light, and everything starts feeling right as I see the faces of my welcoming ancestors.

4.

Beautiful release finds me, a sanctuary in this safe space

Peace guides me, and freedom envelops me finally in my happy place.

Untouchable now to man’s cruelty, deviance, and infidelity

I breathe a sigh of sweet relief and let go of any grief

As the elevated elegance of My Utopia binds Me.

[END]

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.