Poets logo

Decisive Words

A poem about a loved one

By Elizabeth Biz DiedrickPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

If I had to use one word to describe my first love

well... I couldn't.

there is no way I could proclaim all the hurt

and all the happiness

and all the ways you changed me

in just one piece of an incredibly limited vocabulary.

I gave you 4 years of my life.

I gave you parts of me that no one else has seen

and I don't know what to say

I don't know how to explain how holding shards of a glass heart in my arms

made me feel loved

how the blood running down my arms that came from your body

somehow tricked me into thinking you wanted me

how a silly blue ring was supposed to tie your vacant pulse to my beating symphony

how you said you loved me

and you did

in your own way.

I was willing to jump into the blender of your problems

if you would just look at me

the way I looked at you

I just wanted to go to you in tears

and not end up being the one to hand out band-aids

band-aids that were never good enough.

I just wanted for you to face me when we were lying next to each-other.

how do I explain that it made sense to me

that I had to ask for you to treat me like I was special?

and that it was o.k.

if you said no.

I always understood

how even though you made yourself a victim

life had a habit of knocking you down.

Your beauty is only comparable to the sun

and I flew too close

and while I was lying there cooking in burns

I realized that no matter how much you loved me

you wouldn't let yourself be in love with me.

I can't find one word.

But, If I was able to use two words

I know the couple

that could almost capture the song our hearts sang together:

"No Regrets."

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.