Poets logo

Deception

Conversations from the Mirror

By Cynthia FieldsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Deception
Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

I stood at the sink facing the mirror terrified at the unfamiliar face looking just as terrified back at me. It had been a long while since the two of us had spoken to one another.

Looking ahead and bending down I tried desperately to wash the taste of last night’s truths from my mouth. The bitter taste like the leftovers from a heavy meal had thickly coated my tongue and I used it as an excuse not to speak.

I continued to look I hated what I saw had always hoped of being more still I wanted nothing to do with the truth. What had I done to find myself here, alone, and disgusted? There was nothing to say.

Apologies seemed so vain; so futile, such a waste of time. Yet, I needed to speak the words, I owed you that much. I struggled to look again at you, still a stranger, still demanding answers from me. “I’m sorry!” There just a whisper but the slight flinch told me that you’d heard.

“I’m sorry.” A little louder this time. You didn’t believe it, neither did I since I was never one to apologize. Never one to back down or step up…it was a fact, my fact. My truth right there in front of me and I couldn’t deny it.

I’ve treated you poorly. I was supposed to be your best friend and you mine. I denied you and mistook you for the enemy shooting first and watching you fall dead at my feet. “Please forgive me!” I shouted, and my tears filled the sink before me. Blood and tears, tears, and blood…mine, yours, ours.

I faced you the terror fading but still present. I saw the slight relief on your face too. This had been long overdue, and it felt good to talk again. I love you and I need you now more than ever to be my sister, my confidante, and my best friend…again.

Let’s keep in touch.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.