Poets logo

December 8, 1980/2023

Three thoughts...

By Kendall Defoe Published 5 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
40
December 8, 1980/2023
Photo by Ray on Unsplash

Turn it up for me.

What is that sound? That old noise?

They did it better.

*

A quiet life? No.

Family; protests; music...

Love was needed then.

*

All this time taken

to Imagine, play Mind Games,

and listen...listen...

A window at 251 Menlove Ave.

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentarylistinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
40

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Avila Osinta 5 months ago

    Love it! Very well written!

  • Nice thought provoking tribute. There was a lot to read into with this one. I also really liked how you worked some song titles into it

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    Very well written! Congrats on top story!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    So much truth in so few words. John for so long was always my favourite Beatle. It's more likely George now...but loved them all really. This was a nice and warm tribute, eloquently expressed! Congrats on a great Top Story, Kendall!

  • Cathy Deslippe5 months ago

    The Beatles were amazing. Well written,

  • marie e ehlenbach5 months ago

    Itยดs great!

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    They did do it better. Music nowadays is lacking in creativity and in spirit. <3 Great poem, a gentle tribute to iconic musicians.

  • Margaret Brennan5 months ago

    Oh how I miss the Beatles. I cried the day Lennon died. There I was, a new "single" mother, getting my kids ready for school and I got ready for work, and the news came on - as did my tears. Love the tribute. I'm sure Lennon is smiling at it.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is great. Funny, yesterday I looked at the calendar and knew there was some significance to the date, but I couldn't think what it was. Thank you for sparking my poor old brain.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins5 months ago

    Excellent Lennon tribute! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This was so great! Nicely done Kendall and congrats on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    I read this on my phone so I couldnโ€™t make out the name on the bass drum. To my surprise I was right about what this was about. I enlarged the pic and finally saw the name. Very well done. Gone but definitely not forgotten. congrats!!!

  • ๐‚๐จ๐ง๐ ๐ซ๐š๐ญ๐ฎ๐ฅ๐š๐ญ๐ข๐จ๐ง๐ฌ ๐จ๐ง ๐š ๐ฐ๐ž๐ฅ๐ฅ-๐๐ž๐ฌ๐ž๐ซ๐ฏ๐ž๐ ๐“๐จ๐ฉ ๐’๐ญ๐จ๐ซ๐ฒ! ๐ŸŽ‰

  • Emily Binkley5 months ago

    Awesome โœจ

  • Frankie Martinelli5 months ago

    Loved this โค๏ธ

  • Test5 months ago

    They definitely did it better! I don't understand most of today's 'cool' stuff'! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Not a fan of old music but it's so sad that John Lennon passed away. Rest in peace.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    My fav was George, but such a great tribute to John. Well done!!

  • Thank you for writing such a wonderful tribute to John lennon. He is my favorite beetle and one of my all-time favorite musicians. His music will always resonate within me.

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    Life was different then and much better music. Spoken as an old guy!

  • Well done, Kendall. It just ain't the same these days . . .

  • Nicole Poston5 months ago

    Great job!

  • I read this to my wife who is a huge John Lennon fan & she thought this was amazing. I agree with her.

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    I just watched the documentary about Lennon's murder. Thank you for sharing your profound poems.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.