Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Deceit's Last Thread

A Villanelle of Horror

By DaphsamPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
14
Deceit's Last Thread
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

You thought me dead.

Stabbing my head with garden shears.

Was it my deceit that was your last thread?

**

You didn’t just stop there, it appears.

Casting me off the shore with violent jeers.

Was it my deceit that was your last thread?

**

I had a feeling of dread.

When I felt your cold hand grab my ear.

Was it my deceit that was your last thread?

**

The silver blade sliced at my head.

The pain was as sharp as my fears.

You thought me dead.

**

Was it what I had said?

To cause this murderous rage, we were good peers.

Was it my deceit that was your last thread?

**

No matter now, time to switch gears.

I'll lift myself up with this dune grassy spread.

You thought me dead.

Was it my deceit that was your last thread?

sad poetryperformance poetryCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    An excellent villanelle of horror, Daphne. Just one editorial note: Your sixth line should be, "You thought me dead" but you repeated the third line instead.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Well, that was refreshing... in the most chilling of ways! Excellent read and Congrats!!!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Dark performance Villanelle poem!!! Left a bloody heart!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    OOO! That gave me chills. Congratulations on the leaderboard recognition!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Dark and very well done.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Okay, no garden utensils in my home from now on... 😎

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    To me this is kind of a dark poem.

  • Nice and dark

  • Xine Segalas5 months ago

    Nice - disturbing but nice. Well done.

  • Ooooo, I loveeeeee how dark this was! Well done!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Your repetition works very well within this context. An interesting subject for the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.