Poets logo

Death.

Life flashed before my eyes.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Death.
Photo by Federico Enni on Unsplash

This is it, this is where he kills me.

The thought was gone before it fully formed, gone before out of my mind by the wind and swirling the white of the church bell insistence of horseshoes ringing on tarmac, getting faster and faster. I was hurtling towards my doom with no witnesses from the start I told myself No when I was going riding alone bareback, therefore and without a hat at dawn on a freezing New year's Day, I was riding dangerously.

After The fallout with my partner and the cruel actions and words he spoke in front of the guests and my friends, I rebelled in my actions, please do not let him have the last laugh.

Again I tried to pull him up and we raced through a silent village, luckily there was a street that was leading to a beach.

In mid thought, something made me look up. On the edge of a cliff in full light stood a stranger he was gazing down at me and my horse swerved down the hill towards the beach the stranger took a step in my direction relief a great washing bombered through me as I was not alone if the worst was to happen there was somebody who might help somebody who might save me.

The beach seem to enjoy it's own microclimate unimpulse I gave my horse he's freedom blessing, I let go of the reins and walking into the waves, the Lacey edge swirling around my ankles like champagne and I knew something else I knew it's a certain if I was going to die it wouldn't be today.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.