Poets logo

Dear You

An epistolary poem

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
12
Dear You
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Dear You

Dear You,

I was about to call you.

I was about to leave you.

You see, we’ve drifted apart,

And frankly, I played my part.

I loved you for a long time,

And it is grand when hearts rhyme,

When they beat in harmony.

But ours had become shoddy.

I wish you the best,

Even without me.

You will be missed,

Your memory treasured.

I remember when we first met.

Fall was springing joyfully,

Caressing leaves and flowers

On its way to colder times.

But my heart was warm and sunny.

Your skin felt like a rose’s petal;

Your lips tasted like the sweetest foods.

Oriental pearls were nothing compared

To the blinding color of your eyes.

For it has been the Man within

Who has craved for such a Woman

Like you! You, the Lady, and I, the Knight.

My armor was not shiny, it was golden.

At times, I was akin to a child in your arm,

Requiring your motherly affection.

I wish you the best,

Even without me.

You will be missed,

Your memory treasured.

Sometimes, at night, when I close my eyes,

I can still smell your secret fragrance.

I used to absorb its power and desire

With my doting lips. My quivering tongue

Would write passionate messages on your

Body until you begged for more of me.

I felt like a King, a master in his castle.

You, the Lady, and I, the Knight.

Oh, I still feel your warmth when the heat

Was on, when you loved me for real.

I wish you the best,

Even without me.

You will be missed,

Your memory treasured.

Whence comes this lingering pleasure

From the pain I feel, thinking of you?

Why do I need your memory within?

Algophilist, sequacious, powerless,

Is this really me I see in the mirror?

The sunken eyes, the dry lips,

The trembling hands and weak fingers;

Is it really the same I as before?

My quixotic quest for you, windmill-like,

Turned into a storm of ravenous infamy.

I wish you the best,

Even without me.

You will be missed,

Your memory treasured.

I wish you the best,

Even without me.

You will be missed.

You will be missed.

Sincerely,

The Poet

©2007-2023 Cendrine Marrouat

NB: This poem was originally written in 2007 and edited to fit the concept of the Epistolary Challenge.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is such a lovely and heartfelt poem Cendrine. Well done!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This is sensual and devastating and hopeful, all at once. I don’t know if I’d rather break someone’s heart and have them write this way about me, or lose someone and write this well about it. I just know this is exceptional.

  • Loving, luxuriating in my own suffering & pain, unable to separate myself from my grief & loss, all so plaintively expressed in this.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    What a magnificent poem Cendrine! I love the structure and rhythm to this as well as the intimate meaning, feels like French poetry speaking fantastic English. Really classy.

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    My quivering tongue Would write passionate messages on your Body until you begged for more of me. Oh. MY. God! Beautiful. I loved this entire poem, but this is golden.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Beautiful poem, Cendrine! This is a stunning bit of writing. I love the flow of your words so much! Well done!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Emotional, powerful piece. I think it is open to so many interpretations which is lovely ♥️ Well done ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow. Powerful!😊💕

  • Gosh this was so emotional! Very beautifully written!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautifully done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely!!! Loving it!!!💖💕

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Beautiful, Cendrine!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.