Poets logo

Dear You

Ace in Spades

By Colleen WaltersPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
2

Your darkest day is no match for me. I see your darkest day and raise it for a good day.

Your longest night is no match for me. I see your longest night and raise it for a night of star gazing.

Your tears are no match for me. I see your tears , and raise them for tears in a safe place where they are held dear as a beautiful release of heart’s pain. I have bottles of my own .

I see the burning of your scorned heart, and raise it for the burning of a bonfire, flames dancing like they’re just happy, on a starry night.

I see your broken and battered heart, and raise it for a heart whose scars make it stronger, beat harder for Life.

I see your scattered mind, debris laying everywhere, and I raise it for a mind that is swept clean and so full of hopes and dreams that there’s no room to store fear and doubt.

I see your floundering spirit, and I raise it for faith seen from a different angle. This still beautiful spirit even now shines.

I see your self-loathed countenance, and I raise it for an acceptance of the intense beauty that is mesmerizing and stuns those who see it.

I see your soul, the inwardly struggles appearing outwardly normal, from years of careful and deliberate masquerading, hopeful of getting inwardly where you are outwardly. And I raise t for a soul that drops the cape and dons the armor that’s waiting.

I see your disappointment in yourself in relation to others, and I raise it for the truth that you are no disappointment to those who need you, know you and love you. You’ve been tricked into believing the lies.

You are an amazing human being, complete with human flaws and weaknesses. An exceptional person, complete with normal and expected personal thoughts that aren’t always sanctified. You’re not perfect. You will never be perfect, because it’s impossible for even an exceptional human to be perfect. Striving to be perfect is,in reality, a fantasy because we are handmade with emotions, desires, thoughts that are human.He did it intentionally. You are exactly who you are supposed to be. You are exactly where you’re supposed to be. However that looks, it’s been written. Desires? God- given. He never intended for pain and suffering to overshadow joy and love. Love of life, Him and others. We have but one life, not to be wasted on attempting to be perfect and denying what brings us joy, peace and love in the pursuit of perfection. He knows perfectly well that we’re not perfect, and has already taken our imperfection into account. Sometimes He says “ calm down, I’ve got this” to remind us that He guides our steps. There’s not a step we take that He hasn’t already orchestrated into being, however that looks.

So bring me your worst and I’ll raise it to being your best.

Well, not me exactly. I can do some of it, but not all of it.

But I know a guy.

Free Verse
2

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, inspired by events and people in my life..

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.