Poets logo

Dear pops

Stroke surviver

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dear pops
Photo by Johnny Cohen on Unsplash

Dear pops

Well to begin with it must have taken me an hour just for this first line.

If you asked me why, I’ll explain, but only if you have the time.

Because when I think of you my mind starts to rewind, and I had to re-aline these thoughts but I never thought I’d be timed.

Should I start at the time before I was able to drink wine and we were sitting on a riverside with fishing lines?

Haha I laugh back now because the eel had our lines entwined and you were so mad and I almost cried,

I didn’t want you to hurt the eel, yeah I was the sensitive kind.

Different emotions then, but happily crying.

Or should I mention when we had to walk the horses to the house from bland farms?

I still laugh now and remember my tired arms.

We got to red Boone, and my horse knocked a dog out and my eyes were like monsoons, and I just wanted to get outta the heat soon.

and we walked so far I had to take my boots off from the blisters, and ended up stepping on a cactus.

And I remember getting home to nanny and complaining about how bad of a day it was, man, back then I was so captious.

The amount of great memories with you are countless.

If anyone says “the man, the myth, the legend” I automatically think of you.

I’ve never met a man that works harder,

YOURE the reason I’ve grown smarter,

YOURE the reason I know the difference between a solenoid and a starter,

And even though they mistake it, it’s a compliment to be called your daughter.

Because to me you have always been my father,

You should just replace my last name with Carter.

And with these stories I could keep going and going,

My mind is flooded,

Memories flowing,

And each and every one is so bestowing.

I might be bad at emotion showing,

But just know, when I see you,

I see a steel-lined man whose always glowing.

And my love for you will never stop growing.

I love you dearly pops

A love that’s never ending- never stops,

-love your granddaughter

/Brittany

-B.M.O.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.