Poets logo

Best friend

Bestie

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Best friend
Photo by Greg Raines on Unsplash

Best friend

This will be one of my favorites, because picking you as my best friend will never be a regret!

I think it was 6th grade when we met and became best friends.

I could always be real with you, and never had to assess trends.

Back then our group was large, but you stuck by me when the rest fled, we were headed east and they went to the west end.

I’ve dropped all my problems on you, and you have only helped me, never complained.

Oops! I spilt my red wine on your white shirt and it stained! Or for other words when I was drained and pained spilled my heart out, you kept it contained and have been the ONLY friend to help me maintain!

And trust me I acknowledge the amount of my complaint to yours, but when it rains it’s pours, and when you need me, you’ll have every key to my doors, and we can sit back and have a coors, or maybe not coors… but I’ve got wine in my fridge doors? 😅

You are the positive part of my past, and I’ll never forget that.

And when you need me, I’ll have my bags packed, even if I’m traveling on a mules back, because I just backtrack before the clonidine and Prozac, if you were insulted I’d be the one to snap back!

And I still will. You will be my bestie till I D.I.E.

And that remains factual. There’s no manual to friendship but apparently you are the “how to be best friends” intellectual.

But really im about knees deep, in debt I can never repay, because this friendship I’ll still keep, and if you thought I was strong, well your the real G.O.A.T. In a land of sheep.

You’ve done so much for me so I just wish I could take all your problems and absorb it. Did you say you were stepping out the box and trying something new? That’s great I support it. Something giving you issues? I’ll do my best to spin it out in orbit! Because you ARE my backbone and best friend and I’ll never ignore it.

Thank you so much

I hope your life is filled with nothing but grace and love

But not even this poem can show the appreciation that my heart does.

-with all love, Brittany.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.