Poets logo

Dear Old Man

To Dad With Love

By Julia AlfredPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3

Your brown eyes they look so distant and blue,

As you sit there fumbling with the laces on your shoe.

Your hands once so steady, tremble as they reach for mine.

With your mind in this crippled state, I wish we had more time.

More time to talk about life while we sip on some hot herbal tea.

More time to travel to places you always dreamed and wished to see.

Oh how I long to hear you laugh out loud, like you did at times before.

The warm smile you gave when I kissed your cheek each time as I headed out the door.

I want to dance with my father again, have you lead as you gently nudge my toes.

I want to taste your delicious sandwiches that always had me asking for more.

But you’re struggling to recall my face, curious as to who I may be;

And though I’ve said my name each time you’ve asked, you still don’t recognize me.

I grieve your mind being held hostage, with no justice to receive for this crime.

Though this disease is unfair, our biggest enemy is still time.

So I’ll hold your hands more tighter, embrace you every chance that I get;

And even though you won’t know me I pray that somehow you know I will love you until my dying breath.

Love Forever,

Your Bunny.

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Julia Alfred

I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

Visit Cathartic Whispers

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was beautiful and poignant. My grandmother suffered from Alzheimers memory loss steals so much from a person. Thank you for sharing this powerful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.