Poets logo

Dear Mum and Dad, You Broke My Trust

A letter from your daughter

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Dear Mum and Dad, You Broke My Trust
Photo by Alessio Fiorentino on Unsplash

Dear Mum and Dad,

***

Now that I’m an adult, fully grown and mature

I firmly believe a parent / child relationship is sacred,

A relationship of love, respect, honour and trust

Beautiful feelings with no room left for hatred.

***

When you choose to bring a child into this world

You’re responsible to earn and display these feelings,

But you broke my trust at a very young age

Turning my world upside down and left me reeling.

***

I trusted you to love me, to protect me from harm

To see that all my most basic needs were met,

When in sad reality you irreparably broke me

You didn’t protect me as you were the real threat.

***

All these years later and I’m still broken inside

That little girl, your daughter, hesitates each day,

Finding it extremely difficult to trust in people

As you only taught me how to take trust away.

***

You were the most important relationship of my life

And all you taught me is to hide behind my wall,

If I can’t let you, my parents, into my tender heart

Then it is essential that I keep my world very small.

***

Then when I became a mother, a parent myself

I realised that my childhood was not lived in vain,

You actually taught me the greatest lesson of all

How not to parent a child, how not to be inhumane.

***

I am honoured to be the loving Mother of two

Raising them in the complete opposite of you,

And as an end result these two precious beings

Taught me it’s okay to love and trust anew.

***

Most of my life I was sad and angry with you both

But now I find I’m extremely grateful in a way,

You toughened me up, made sure I was a survivor

Hence why I wrote this piece to finally have my say.

***

Thank you Mum and Dad for all the lessons I learnt

You definitely ensured I would be totally independent,

Never relying on another human to meet my needs

So I do apologise for all my years of resentment.

***

From these words forward and into the future

I intend to work on being able to forgive you both,

This won’t happen in a day, a week or even a year

It’ll happen as it plays a part in my spiritual growth.

***

I will sign out here, my dear Mother and Father

I feel like this unloaded a tonne from my chest,

I love you both but sadly I also don’t like you

Still I happily send you nothing but my very best.

***

Your daughter, Colleen

*********************************************************************** I was asked to write a letter in a poetry prompt. Did I know my writing was going to go in this direction? No I did not and I apologise for how dark and heavy this piece is but as you can probably guess, it’s something that has obviously needed to come out for a very long time!

**********************************************************************

To lighten the tone of this poem, I'm going to ask Allan Sherman to lend a hand and sing his letter to his Muddah and Fadduh.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    just found this piece today, its really empowering and sad at the same time. thank you for writing this!

  • This was soooo relatable! My parents broke me beyond repair as well 😭 Loved this poem so much!

  • Big hugs for your words here, it is difficult when these things happen

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    Very raw and real. Nicely done.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very brave of you to share this. Beautifully written. I got a kick out of the song, too.

  • Sarah Loyd2 years ago

    Beautiful poem. Here are some hugs from me 🤗❤️

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.