Poets logo

Dear Mrs. Hines

The comfort of kindness...

By Anastasia BasilPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Photo by author

That day we went on a field trip, you forgot your hat. We watched you run inside a small yellow house.

Such a secret, to see a teacher’s house!

I sat in front, my hand on the seat, saving it for you. Not that anyone would have sat next to me.

This was Chicago in the 1980s, winter was coming. "Please, Mr. Vic, can you swing by my house? I forgot my hat."

Of course he would swing by. He would have moved the sun a little to the left, a mountain a bit to the right, had you asked.

Bounding back onto the bus, you slid next to me and whispered, "Look! That's my little dog in the window. If I tell you his name, promise not to tell the others?"

I never told.

Mr. Vic turned toward the city. "Won’t this be fun?" you said, hugging me close.

It would not be fun.

The kids had partnered and none had chosen me. I feared lunchtime the most. The girls sat together, huddled and laughing, always laughing.

To them, I was a wall for slings and arrows and ugly words. To you, I was something I could not yet see.

Years later, when I'd grown old enough to leave the laughing girls and the warzone of home behind, I named my own little dog the same as yours.

But I never told.

Mrs. Hines, wherever you are, in this world or the next, I remember...

We ate lunch together near the stairs of the aquarium, far from the laughing girls. The wool of your coat warm against my shoulders.

It's been forty years, and still, your kindness finds me.

inspirationalvintagelove poems
11

About the Creator

Anastasia Basil

My heart belongs to dogs and stories. (Is there a union for introverts? We should organize.) 🖤

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • John Eva2 years ago

    We all need a mrs. Hines in our life. I think we can all remember the teacher in our lives that made a difference. Great poem, great entry!

  • This was a beautiful tribute to Mrs. Hines. She's a very lovely person. I loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Heartwarming, loving it💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.