Poets logo

Dear Mother

A different Mothers Day message

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dear Mother
Photo by Carlos Quintero on Unsplash

This is for everyone who for whatever reason does not feel the need to acknowledge a mom on Mother's Day

Dear Mom,

Each year I struggled to buy you a Mother's Day card

There was not one with the right words

They all said you were my best friend

or I could depend on you and that

You were always there or me

But none of it is true

You chose dating men over your children

left us fir the grandparents to raise

You talked down to me and made fun of me

And ever had a kind word

You criticized and judged me

and never gave my husband a chance

Yet you showed up at the hospital

each time I gave birth as if you

were a caring mom

You did not answer when I called your phone

and later said you knew it was only me

On Mothers Day you expected to be honored

and I always bought a gift but it felt fake

I wish you had initiated a warm relationship with me

from childhood but you did not

You did do one thing which was give me life

sot hanks for that

Cheryl

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I'd be devastated if I had kids who thought this of me. The relationship we have with our mothers is so.... foundational. If it's lacking, if she fails you... it can really leave you on the back foot.

  • Nicely written 📝 ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.