Poets logo

Dear Meth

Im leaving

By Eugene ButlerPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
2
Never Again

Dear Meth,

It's hard to put my thoughts into words

As my mind and body are filled with yours

I see your white crystalline powder, glistening in the light

I smell the acrid smoke you emit, burning my nose with all your might

I feel your rush, your euphoria, your high

I taste your bitter chemicals, a flavor I can't deny

You've been my constant companion

My addiction that I can't abandon

I remember when we first met

You promised me happiness, no regret

I was young, naive and vulnerable

You took advantage, and now I'm miserable

You've ruined my life, my health, my dreams

You made me do things I never deemed

Possible, you've robbed me of my sanity

My relationships, my family, my humanity

I used to be a person with goals and aspirations

But now I'm just a shadow of my former self

You've made me lie, cheat and steal

You've made me do things that make me feel

Ashamed, disgusted, and worthless

I've lost my sense of self and purpose

You've taken away my freedom, my choices

I'm trapped in this cycle of addiction and voices

Voices that tell me I need you to survive

Voices that whisper I'm nothing without you by my side

Voices that make me crave your toxic embrace

Voices that make me feel like I'm in a hopeless race

But I'm writing this letter to say goodbye

To break free from your chains, to spread my wings and fly

I know it won't be easy, but I have to try

I have to fight, to live, to thrive

I'll miss the rush, the high, the buzz

But I'll gain my life, my health, my love, my trust

I'll find joy in the little things, the simple pleasures

I'll rebuild what you've destroyed, with hard work and measures

I don't hate you, Meth, but I don't love you either

You're just a substance that brought me nothing but fever

I'm ready to let you go, to move on, to heal

To become the person I used to be, the real deal

So farewell, Meth, it's time for us to part

I'll always remember you, but you'll no longer have my heart

I'll seek help, I'll find support, I'll make amends

I'll fight for my life, my future, my friends

Sincerely,

Me.

surreal poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Eugene Butler

Hello, my name is Eugene Butler. I am just a guy trying to live as good of a life as possible after many years of addiction and crime, prison and pain, and much loss. Today I live in recovery as a husband and a father. Life is great sober!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Walter D. Witherspoon12 months ago

    Hey I am praying for you and yours love you

  • Ashley Lima12 months ago

    Eugene, thank you so sharing this vulnerable piece. I am so proud of you for choosing recovery. I hope your voice can be an inspiration to help others. Sending you love and well-wishes on your journey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.