Poets logo

Apologies of a Convict

Amends from Afar

By Eugene ButlerPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Behold, the old man has gone; the New Man has come

In shadows deep, where pain resides,

A tale of wounds and twisted tides,

I bear my soul, with heavy heart,

Seeking solace, a brand-new start.

Once lost amidst a desperate chase,

In drugs and vices, a darkened space,

Blinded by my own selfish plight,

Unaware of the pain I'd ignite.

To those I loved, my deepest plea,

Forgive the hurt I caused, can't you see?

Through veils of addiction, I lost my way,

Inflicting scars, my soul in disarray.

To every soul entangled in my web,

Innocence lost, joy turned to dread,

I stand before you, with remorse profound,

My voice, a humble whisper, resounding.

To the families shattered, hearts torn,

By choices made, their spirits worn,

The ripple of pain, the anguish, the strife,

A chain reaction, the cost of a life.

I bear the weight of those consequences dire,

With tears that fall, fueling my desire,

To amend my path, redeem my soul,

And help rebuild what once was whole.

Though words may falter, actions will speak,

A life transformed, a promise I seek,

To mend the shattered, heal the scarred,

Rekindle hope where darkness marred.

This ode I pen, with sincerest intent,

A tribute to the lives that were bent,

May forgiveness find its gentle embrace,

And grant us all the gift of grace.

For in this journey of remorse and pain,

A chance for growth, to rise again,

To learn, to heal, to build anew,

With love as our guide, our compass true.

May this poem reach deep within your soul,

A mirror reflecting the wounds made whole,

And as you read, may tears freely flow,

Releasing burdens, letting healing grow.

Remember, my friend, your past does not define,

The path ahead, where redemption's sign,

Hold fast to hope, embrace the light,

Let love lead you, through darkest night.

inspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Eugene Butler

Hello, my name is Eugene Butler. I am just a guy trying to live as good of a life as possible after many years of addiction and crime, prison and pain, and much loss. Today I live in recovery as a husband and a father. Life is great sober!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eugene ButlerWritten by Eugene Butler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.