Poets logo

Dear Lucas and Logan

An Epistolary Letter

By Bryan BuffkinPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Lucas and Logan,

I know I can be mean.

I’m Daddy; what did you expect?

I raise my teacher voice.

I bark my coach’s bark.

I know I can be very, very mean.

But know this:

Seven years ago marked the finish line

Of a race I never thought I’d have to run

We wanted you, but couldn’t have you.

We dreamed of you, but couldn’t stop dreaming.

We saw doctors and experts

We tried everything

And when you two finally came to us

You were miracles, indeed.

In my line of work,

I’ve seen kids without parents

I’ve seen kids with parents who don’t care

I’ve seen kids with very nice, not-mean parents.

I’ve seen what happens to those kids.

I’ve seen what the world does with those kids.

I’ve seen what becomes of those kids.

I don’t want that happening to you.

I’ve seen Logan build magical things with blocks.

I’ve listened to Lucas sing beautiful hymns to himself.

I’ve seen Logan practicing his times tables.

I’ve listened to Lucas effortlessly read books well above his level.

I’ve seen Logan climb monstrous walls.

I’ve endured Lucas beating me many times in video games.

I know how wonderful the both of you are.

So yeah, I know I can be mean.

But I have high expectations, lofty goals,

And you both have colossal ceilings.

So know this:

I love you more than I love

My next breath of air.

I’m proud of you both more than I’ve ever been

Of anything I’ve ever done.

Ten years ago, we dreamed of you.

Nine years ago, we prayed for you.

Eight years ago, we begged for you.

And every day before and since,

We fought for you.

And we’ll continue to fight.

Because you’re worth it.

With great love,

Your Dad

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bryan Buffkin

Bryan Buffkin is a high school English teacher, a football and wrestling coach, and an aspiring author from the beautiful state of South Carolina. His writing focuses on humorous observational musings and inspirational fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.