Poets logo

Dear God

A prayer of sorts

By Tressa RosePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
8
Dear God
Photo by nega on Unsplash

Dear God,

You're probably surprised to be hearing from me

I'm a little surprised myself

That it's taken me this long to initiate a conversation with you.

~*~

Life has really been something else

And events that traumatized me as a child

Ended up pushing me as far away from you as possible.

~*~

I tried to understand and love you

The way my parents and my sisters did

But some things I was being taught with you never felt right to me

As much as I wanted to have blind faith

I couldn't with A God like that.

~*~

And so when things went bad in my life

And I prayed

With no answer back

I became angry

And used it as an excuse to push you away even further

Blaming at first

Then daring even to question your very existence.

~*~

Then I fell into the darkest hole of my life

I lost that which I loved the most

I crashed head first into heroin and it's false comforts

Seeking shelter in things that ultimately hurt me more in the end

Seeing no way out

Feeling cursed

Absence of all forms of light

My soul void and colorless.

Fighting the demons I unintentionally opened myself up to

In what felt like a losing battle.

~*~

That's when I started to see who God really was for me

In bits of kindness from a stranger

A song I needed to hear that came on at the perfect time

Seeing little signs popping up all over

That I'm going to be ok.

Being reminded that I am not alone

When I needed it the very most.

Angels showing up in different forms

Blessings I really didn't deserve

But the universe provided anyways.

~*~

You are not of hate

You are the purest of loves

You are hope

You are peace

Second

Third

Fourth

And fifth chances.

~*~

Because you have taught me to never give up

That I am love too

And I am worth the fight.

~*~

love poemsinspirational
8

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    Beautifully done, really loved this

  • This was so positive and powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Test6 months ago

    Rose your story is a beacon of light for others who are struggling with their own faith. It shows that it's okay to question, to doubt, and to be angry. And it also shows that even in the midst of darkness, there is always a way back to the light. Thank you for sharing your story. It is a gift to us all.

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi-T ~ Ah, your versatility amazes me ~ a far cry from your bathroom reading...Hmm! As an aside re; 'Fight' I can't imagine why 'Religion' and how one believes in 'God' should cause all of this unrest. 'j'

  • Beautifully written Tressa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.