Poets logo

Dear Children

A poem reflecting on the sustainable development goals (SDGs)

By Hannah Kawira HartwellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dear children,

 I hope you're okay.

 I hope that you're surviving

this mess that we've made.

 We made you a promise, 

17 promises to be precise,

 to fix the problems that history created 

To make your world that little bit more bright. 

We've promised you food in your belly 

and a roof over your head. 

You'd learn 

and you'd understand 

you would speak,

 And you'd be heard.

 

We promised you would work for both income and for joy, 

become partners with those under the water 

And support your friends on the soil.

 

These are just some of the pledges my parents made

To be met by me in 10 years time, 

Children, I can't promise that the world will be perfect by then,  

but I can promise you

 with all my heart

 that I will try.

social commentarysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Hannah Kawira Hartwell

A writer, actor, musician and activist from Wales. I love poetry, travel, theatre and music, telling the stories that people want to hear, and having a meaningful impact on the people my words interact with!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.