Poets logo

Dear Blank Page...

A love/hate relationship

By Holly PheniPublished about a year ago 2 min read
16
Dear Blank Page...
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear Blank Page,

Sometimes I hate you.

You’re so empty -- even weak, waiting for me to do all the work.

You have no ideas, no fabulous colors or friendly characters to offer.

You lack depth, texture. I feel nothing when I touch you.

When I put my pen to your back and nothing happens, sometimes it almost hurts.

The pain lessens a little every time though.

Your disinterested gaze is wearing on me,

numbing me to feel any emotion --

least of all disappointment in you.

Not that you have feelings anyway.

You seem pretty cold, unflinching, unbothered.

I don’t want it to be this way, but it seems there is not much I can do about it.

Sometimes I hate you…because you’re too much like me.

Sometimes, I feel empty.

Love,

Your tormented captive

*

Dear Blank Page,

Sometimes I love you.

You manifest such exciting potential --

Potential to speak a message that pulls people in,

A message that entertains and encourages,

A message that teaches and challenges, and maybe even changes some things.

You’re not really blank, you’re just open, unwritten, a work in progress.

You gaze up at me with a clarity that insists this story is going to end well,

Even the chapters yet unwritten, unspoken, unseen.

At first glance you’re flimsy, easily rumpled and torn, not worth a lot –

But you aren’t cheap, no.

You are marvelously free.

Free to speak what you want, when you want, to whom you want.

You free me to decide what comes next.

You give me a voice and a choice,

And in a world that sometimes looks away, you’re always looking up, listening.

To some you may be empty,

But a closer look with an experienced eye reveals that you are full

Of

hope.

Sometimes I love you because you’re a lot like me.

Sometimes, I’m full of hope.

Love,

Your friend with the pen, story yet untold

surreal poetryperformance poetrylove poems
16

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧12 months ago

    Clever and very relatable!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad12 months ago

    I love the duality and the relatability. Great job!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, I loved them both so much and could identify with each side equally! Really fantastic meanings and emotions to explore. Great work!!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Absolutely!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was brilliant Holly

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Awww, the ups and downs of being a writer captured in two moments of resonant, resounding feeling. Beautifully done, dear Holly 🥰🤗

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Loved this! ❤️❤️❤️ I totally relate to both of these! In the same writing session sometimes 😬😬😬

  • Both the hate and love versions are so relatable! This was so fantastically done! I love it so much!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    I love how you show both sides to that darn blank page! Well done, Holly 💕😊

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very well done. I love how you display contrasting outlooks.

  • The two sides of a coin. Our moods on different days. Nicely done.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Love it, I love the two letters . 🥰🥰🥰

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness. This is fabulous. Love the contradiction in the halves. Very well done.

  • Testabout a year ago

    What an introspective and beautiful poem. The roller coaster ride that is writing...not always pleasant but those highs are everything (it's probably why we love it, right?). Well done, Holly. Terrific work. ❤️

  • Yes, I Love this ❤️❤️💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.