Poets logo

Dear best friend

---

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
Dear best friend
Photo by Liz Fitch on Unsplash

Dear best friend,

You also understand my situation extremely well. You were the first person I ever told about my troubles. The first person I trusted. The sad skins of a double-crossing foe that plays for tokens of affections and bits of love: our bitter halves The Raven and Preacher. I never thought my life would be this horrible. I never imagined. They snuck in quietly and tricked me good. A manipulation that ran deep from their trauma and inner demons. Now, as I've tried to leave them for the past several years, it's been a wicked tug of war I can't end. But, with my family’s support finally here, I can. I feel we both understand each other. It's hard to say one ever truly can understand everything about someone, as a person is deep and complex. But, I feel you and I have a connection that is important and built on trust. How else could we send these letters? How else could you know they were from me and they were written for you? Our friendship is deep.

My dear friend, I hope today you find peace and hope and joy in the little things and through God. I hope you have a wonderful writing day. Hugs from me to you.

Talk to you soon!

Love,

Melissa

excerpts
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    Trust is a wonderful thing to have. But once our trust has been betrayed, it's difficult for anyone to win it back from us. The fact that you two trust one another this way speaks a lot about your friendship. It's a wonderful thing to have found once again, & I'm very happy you have it.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is a beautifully written letter. Very well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.