Poets logo

Deadly, CO

An Acrostic Warning!

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
13
Taken from Pexels, Edited in CanvaPro

Deadly, Colorado, a place I know only too well.

Evil lurks behind each corner, waiting to drag you to hell

Akron, Alamosa or even Alma are much safer, friend

Dying young and in a murky ditch, is not a winning trend

Leave well alone, the welcome sign should really read

Your best years are ahead of you, if only you take heed.

*

Colorado may be the home of many gorgeous landscapes

On the mountains, though, stand deathly shadowy shapes

*

Thank you for reading!

You have Heather Hubler to thank for this after she offhandedly commented that one of my other pieces confused her because she didn't know there was a place in Colorado called Deadly.

Hence this acrostic warning was born. There, to my knowledge, is not a town in Colorado called Deathly. Whether deathly shadowy figures stand atop the Colorado mountains...I wouldn't like to say!

If you enjoyed this, please click the heart, leave a comment or both, as all interaction is appreciated. You can also subscribe to be kept up to date with my latest work.

If you like this, you may also like:

The original Deadly CO acrostic poem

Or one of my two entries into the Reset Your Password Challenge:

You can take a look at the rest of my work here.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetryfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This is so clever and unique. Really enjoyable!

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    I'm from Colorado and have never even heard of it! Such a great piece– all hail the acrostic king! Drew me in with every word, and frightened me, I might say. I'm going to sleep with one eye open and I'll let you know about those shadowy figures atop mountain peaks. lol!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Paul, this was so clever! I share Sara’s sentiments. But also this is so funny, because some American cities do have some wild names! I love that you took that possibility and ran with it, like yep, it’s a real place and the name fits. Reminds me of a funny story. There’s this road I have to walk down to get from my place to Audrey’s. It’s spelled Xerses. I found out it’s pronounced “zerk-sees” but for the longest time I never heard anyone say it aloud. In my head, I thought it was pronounced “exorsis” and similar to “exorcist.” Even though there’s no o in it. I thought damn, how sinister. 😂

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    Sounded like a preview for a really good Stephen king movie or something. 10/10 would read a full story ☺️

  • Ah, Paul, you slay me!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    The warning at the end is climatic. I'm with Heather Hubler, I didn't know about this town either. Those western towns have some ominous names, don't they? Nice work.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Brilliant work Paul!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent poem 👌

  • Oh I really loved this one! So clever and creative!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Lol. Nicely done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahhhh!!! I loved this so much and am so delighted you chose to make this an acrostic too :) Very clever! I loved the line, 'Your best years are ahead of you, if only you take heed'. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.