Poets logo

Dead Flowers

It's Elemental

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
45
photo by ed-leszczynskl/unsplash

How can it be, that

your heart is carved from ice, when

all you breathe is fire?

*

How can you say, that

you are flooded with truth, when

all you rain are lies?

*

How do you believe

we’ve sown the seeds of love, when

your sprouts are poison?

*

You ask how we died.

I ran out of breath, my dear.

It’s elemental.

sad poetrynature poetry
45

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    How the effing jeffing bezos did I miss this bonfire of emotion? this is incredible, Cathy. As usual you find new ways to blow me the hell away, well done on this buddy!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    This is powerfully and brilliantly written. I couldn’t pick one line to highlight. I have to say the entire poem is spot on!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wow! This is pure genius. I wasn't around for this challenge, or I would have predicted a win for you.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    The last stanza is splendid!!!

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Ooh, I like how this builds and the structure. I love that snappy ending too. 👏

  • Cathy Holmes, I like the Tone which is spoken 😉❤️💯📝👍💥

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wow! That was incredible.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Lovely!

  • Excellent piece and a chance of another Challenge win methinks.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Why I do believe you have the hang of this Haiku thingy. Always fun to read your work

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Ooh so good! I love the juxtaposition of each piece, riveting!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    Beautiful.

  • Sneha Pradhanabout a year ago

    This is hauntingly beautiful Cathy! 🤍

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    Your structural repetition works really well, Cathy. The question/answer in. All four - slightly different with the "statement" question in the final summation. Smooth. Intelligent.

  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    Love how you crafted this! The words and sentiments just flow...

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Holy shit this is incredible

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    You are so good Cathy, you make it look easy

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Wow I stand my ground — you are the Haiku Queen 🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    WOW, this blew me away. Gorgeous, layered, and full of meaning. This one will be sticking with me for a while. Thank you for writing and sharing this piece. ❤️

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    You have such a way with rhythm in your writing!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I have to say, this one blew...the socks right off my feet. Great job with the prompt.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I now feel horrible about my plants that died because of my miserable green thumb- lol. Seriously though this poem is excellent with so much said . Love it - it is elemental ❤️

  • I like how this carries the reader through the emotions of love.

  • Audrey Lushabout a year ago

    O M G!! You've got me again Holmes with a literary punch in the stomach... The power of the punch from such an economy words - mind blowing and well... elemental. Here here dear friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.