Poets logo

Day#6: Writing Challenge

Object Writing "WHO"

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
10
Day#6:  Writing Challenge
Photo by Carolina on Unsplash

CHALLENGE #1: OBJECT WRITING

Day 6/14

“WHO” Writing

5 minutes – “sailor”

Watching the dock in anticipation of leaving the ship, the Sailor can’t help but grin. His step perks up as his feet hit solid ground. He grabs his ratty bag and sets off at a long walk toward home, not far from the docks. He can’t wait to be greeted in the tight embrace of his patient wife and the shouts and smiles of the children, whom he misses dearly on these long voyages, whether only a long weekend or a month.

10 minutes – “waitress clearing a table”

Her shift is near the end. Just this final table to clear before I can go home for my hot shower and a date with a glass of Pinot Grigio and my cat in front of some Netflix.

Coming back from emptying my tray of dirty dishes in the kitchen, I see a family of five sit down at the table I just cleared. Date night plans delayed. I’ll wear my best smile in hopes of a good tip.

I cross the floor, greeting them with pleasantries and ready to take their drink orders. I introduce myself as their enthusiastic server and offer them their menus. I can see they’re already feeling more relaxed and at ease. I have been doing this job a long time.

90 seconds – “priest”

In the confessional, I wait impatiently for the next voice. I rarely know who it is, but the confessions are often the same

*********************************************************************

So, finally, I’ve gotten back to moving on with this eight-week challenge, which I wish to post here daily – preferably in the mornings, as it only takes a few minutes. I find it a useful practice for developing accountability and creativity.

More on this challenge and my purpose for writing this nonsense can be found here:

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsFor Fun
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.