Poets logo

Day #5: Writing Challenge

Object Writing "WHAT"

By KJ AartilaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
10
Day #5: Writing Challenge
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

CHALLENGE #1: OBJECT WRITING

Day 5/14

“WHAT” Writing

5 minutes – “movie theater”

We sat down in the dark of the movie theater. As we waited for the movie to start, the scent of popcorn reached my nose. I could hear people slurping up drinks through straws, and a murmur of disembodied voices floated on the stale air.

10 minutes – “cigar”

I could smell the heavy scent of the cherry flavored cigar poking from the old man’s mouth. It bobbed s he spoke. The mesmerizing words of his story escaping the tobacco stained beard. His milky blue eyes sparkled with remembrance and joy as we sat in a half-circle around him on the floor, taking in the tales with wide eyes. Even though the smoke made me cough, I was transfixed, unable to rise. I didn’t want to leave, even though I smelled Mama’s apple-pie leaving the oven. I could hear plates clattering on the counter from the other room, calling to us. I was

90 seconds – “arrow”

The arrow flew straight and true toward it’s target through the trees, though my sweaty hands were shaking..

*********************************************************************

More on this challenge and my purpose for writing this nonsense can be found here:

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsFor Fun
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.