Poets logo

Dawdling is TCB

Taking Care of Business the right way

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
7
You never know who needs that smile, either!

Today I was busy and distracted by all of that "busy-ness." I had groceries to buy after the ice had melted and I could finally drive in it. I was focused and had a mission. The cold January air reminded me that I wanted to be home again where it was warm and there would be, well... less people. (I am an introvert.) The problem was that my oldest son was with me. The problem was that he is a dawdler. And he always stops to talk to all those people. (He is an extrovert.)

After I had my groceries, we pulled up to the gas station. I'm thinking, "yes, almost home!" My son goes in to pay for the gas, of which he will pump. He is a gentleman. I'm proud of that. So, while I waited, I did a little cleaning from the car pockets where straw sheaths like to collect, and used paper napkins hide. I had the car door open and was leaned over, looking under the seats, fully engaged in the process. As I was deep into the search, I was surprised by a very nice male voice. I looked up and it was a young man, probably in his mid-twenties, asking me if I'd like for him to pump my gas for me, a huge smile on his face. I was truly a little shocked at this unexpected generous offer. But I was also very happy to know that there were such kind hearts willing to help others.

I explained to him that my son was with me, but I gave him my thanks and told him what a blessing he was. That was a gift in my eyes. This wonderful young man was also of a different race than I am. That even made his gesture more special to me. In the world, where there is so much division and discord, so much love left behind in the midst of mistrust and ignorance, I was sent a peacemaker!

Scriptures: Matthew 5:9 Jesus said, “Blessed are the peacemakers, because they will be called sons of God” (Matt. 5:9).

I found this article that brought this home to me:

As William Barclay translates this verse, “They are people who produce right relationships in every sphere of life.” https://www.lifeway.com/en/articles/sermon-blessed-peacemakers-sons-god-matthew-5

I'm grateful that my son dawdled long enough that I got this experience because I truly met a "son of God" today!

I'm also grateful my son brings peace to others, too. (Even though he dawdles...)

Okay...I'll try to be more of a people person from now on, too!

GratitudeProseinspirationalFamily
7

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    Sometimes an act of kindness is the brightest ray of light

  • Staringale4 months ago

    This is a heartwarming moment of unexpected kindness and connection with a stranger. This encounter reminds me of the power of peacemaking and kindness. Your gratitude and acknowledgement of the young man's gesture is touching. The lesson I learned from this is to appreciate the unexpected moments of connection.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Your son is like my dad. Getting anywhere could take ***hours*** because he would stop to chat with anyone he knew, and he seemed to know ***everyone***!

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Nice! Thank you for sharing. When it feels like the world is changing and not for the good, it helps to hear a story like that.😊💕

  • Aaliyah Madison4 months ago

    Excellent.

  • Thank you for sharing your nice experience Shirley. I enjoy inspirational reads like this.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    What a thoughtful young man and what a nice encounter for you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.