Poets logo

The Song Of The Green Man

Inspired By A Walk Along Ponteland Road, Newcastle

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 days ago β€’ Updated 7 days ago β€’ 1 min read
12
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is inspired by two things, the walk along a main road in Newcastle that you can see below:

... and I mentioned the Green Man in a recent poem and my great friend made a comment that amused me as she was totally unaware of the legends of the Green Man. This is the poem.

The music is "Geen Man" by XTC from the wonderful "Apple Venus" album that I have been playing recently. The video is unofficial but very good so I hope you can see it.

The video has the song lyrics in the comments, I hope I can do the concept justice.

I will use my standard Pantoum form.

The Song Of The Green Man

πŸŒΏπŸ‚πŸπŸƒπŸŒ³πŸƒπŸπŸ‚πŸŒΏ

The Green Man Walks These Leaf-Bound Paths

He Is The Wild Man Of The Woods

And Sings A Song Of Nature's Dance

Green Man Swathed In Leaves For His Hood

πŸƒπŸŒ³πŸƒ

He Is The Wild Man Of The Woods

Protector Of Forest Life

Green Man Swathed In Leaves For His Hood

Lover Of Wild Creatures And Wine

πŸƒπŸŒ³πŸƒ

Protector Of Forest Life

The Green Man Has Been Here Always

Lover Of Wild Creatures And Wine

Nature's King And The Friend Of Fae

πŸƒπŸŒ³πŸƒ

The Green Man Has Been Here Always

The Green Man Walks These Leaf-Bound Paths

Nature's King And The Friend Of Fae

And Sings A Song Of Nature's Dance

πŸŒΏπŸ‚πŸπŸƒπŸŒ³πŸƒπŸπŸ‚πŸŒΏ

And a sort of companion piece:

performance poetryPantoumnature poetry
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes8 days ago

    This is lovely.

  • Nice! Enjoyed your green man. In my culture, there are so many similar stories. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•β€οΈ

  • Hehehehe yes I didn't know about the Green Man before this. Loved your poem!

  • Anna 12 days ago

    Love it! So majestic and it's like the whole woods together creates this Green Man😊

  • Kenny Penn12 days ago

    Loved this Mike. It reminded me of one of my favorite stories, The Eye of the World. There is a Green Man at the end, the last of his kind, and he’s a lot like this

  • Chelsea Rose12 days ago

    Your poem has inspired me to visit Ponteland Road when I'm next up north x

  • Yay I love the green man!

  • Mike this is very cool! Guys, green or another color, who love wild creatures and wine win with me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.