Poets logo

How God & I

chat throughout the winter's day

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
12
Job 37:9-10

"Out of the south comes the storm, And out of the north the cold. From the breath of God ice is made, And the expanse of the waters is frozen."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The ground is covered in white. Nature demands to be noticed like that at times. To remind us we aren't in control at all. But that same overlord beckons us to learn from it.

Isaiah 55:10-11

I have seen birds pecking at the ground in hopes to find a morsel. I threw out some shelled walnuts, but I don't even know if they like them or not. It's my small way of saying I wish I could help.

Father feeds them

I also watched my son bundle up and go out to cut wood for the neighbors stove. He didn't have to. Nobody prompted him to. Only his heart. I am very proud he has that kind of heart.

John 15:12: My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.

Another son called to bring me a chuckle with his teasing. He loves to joke with me. I eventually catch on. It's part of our rhythm. It's his love language.

Good Medicine

My oldest daughter finds herself alone and confused with changes she didn't want in her life. (hurt, betrayal, impending divorce) She's angry and hurt. I try to console, but she knows she has to face the struggles. God is close to her now and is refining her in the heat as silver.* It's difficult for her to sense that presently, but she will.

Sometimes God takes people out of lives. Malachi 3

The youngest daughter remains distant. I hear that she and I both have hurt our right feet. We both have dropped something hard on top. They aren't broken, but maybe we are both being reminded to think of each other. Life is strange like that. Praying for healing.

Humbleness

I am reminded that this hasn't been my first snow or ice storm where we've been locked down. I was prepared for this one. It really hasn't been too much to bear. My computer has been slow, but that's ok. Maybe I needed to step away from it awhile. The birds needed to be fed, right?

Proverbs 31

There are worries I've been carrying. But all this snow seems to have stopped time in its track. Soon the sun will shine again and melt all this away. Like life. It works itself out, right?

He cares

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

References:

https://www.biblestudytools.com/bible-study/topical-studies/what-is-the-refiners-fire-in-malachi.html#:~:text=A%20refiner's%20fire%20melts%20down,how%20he%20purifies%20our%20hearts.

https://anchoredabode.com/2019/07/02/removing-the-dross-refiners-fire-includes-purification-and-removing-the-dross-but-what-is-dross/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is how I pray and talk to God. It isn't at all "religious." But all I know, is that the more I learn about the character of God, the more I trust in Him.

nature poetryinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseFamily
12

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Religion is hit and miss. It can harm as well as heal. But spirituality is something we all can share and relate to to some degree.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    Shirley, this brought tears to my eyes, it is such a lovely take on how to get through life with grace and faith in God and family.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Belief comes to me differently every day. Some good some bad, Some days I pump my fist and ask why? Some days I pray and be thankful. Yet deep down i know there is a greater power, if not, then why are we? Very insightful article.

  • I feel religious is subjective, just like art. What's not religious to someone may be religious to another. We never know. I feel this is such a wonderful way to pray!

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    This just shows that no one is alone when it comes to dealing with difficulties and how to resolve them. What it takes, as you've shown, is reason and compassion. Well done.

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Your relationship with God is evident in this piece. I love the way he speaks ♥️

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Shirley, I like the insight that this gives into what brings you strength. I found it quite moving.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Amen to that, Sista Belk! 🙏🏽

  • Beautifully warming

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I feel like 100 people could tell these little scenarios 100 different ways.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.