Poets logo

Darling,

Revisiting a person that lingers, from times gone by

By M. EdwardsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Darling,
Photo by David von Diemar on Unsplash

Darling, you’ve damned my mind to the depths.

Is this inescapable inkling that's imprinted on my mind your doing?

Suffrage that sneaks into my sunsets, my serenades, my serendipity, my sea foam lapping at the shore.

Touch me again, trick me into tranquil, tease me with transparency.

Really, you loved those riddles that held me for unrequitable ransom, knowing you were unreadable.

A gambit you planned that never abated, unabashed as you abandoned any chance to aid my play.

Consequential, this callous callback, is it not?

To tread the thoughts of your tumultuous waters, treachery and mistrust once more.

If only the imprints you infixed could relieve, but the incessant nagging of your memory doesn’t dwindle.

Oftentimes, my mind drifts back; you were an otherworldly, overbearing, obsessive ocelot of a boy that left open wounds in my history from your obstructive claws.

Now, my life remains in neglect, never nourished, narrowly attended, my mind ever nubilous from the remnants of your naively everlasting napalm.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

M. Edwards

Writing for the sake of writing. I love bizarrely niche essays, fiction and recently, poetry. Not a professional - yet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Really wonderful, the alliterative echo through each line, obsessively trying to let go.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.