Poets logo

Darkness

A Poem By Lilac Winds

By Lilac WindsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

It's dark.

Oh so dark.

There's no sound.

Nothing.

Just Darkness.

I once had the light,

held softly in my hands,

but the suffocating doubt,

made it flicker,

flicker out.

Now I'm alone.

Alone with the dark.

With no gentle hand to guide me.

However,

my legs support me,

they keep me strong

when I am afraid.

With mechanical motions,

I can build up my walls.

Keep myself safe,

but, really,

what does it do?

Because you can't escape pain,

no matter how dark it is.

how tall your walls,

or how sturdy they are,

since a new enemy will arise.

This enemy is a strong as you are,

as smart,

as determined,

as you are.

However, their aching familiarity is a friendly mask,

to hide the fact,

that they are so much more vicious than you.

This enemy will fight you,

and they will win,

and you will fall,

as your enemy looks on,

softly, quietly.

Then the last thing you see,

is the smile your enemy tempted you with,

because that was all you wanted.

Just to be able to smile,

once more,

as you fall,

deep within the walls,

you built to protect you.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.