Poets logo

Darkness Brings Us Home

A Shadow with Death

By Kayla LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Once upon the stars

A shadow came out to play

But afraid of the dark

All the others stayed away.

Once upon the land

The shadow continued destroyed

Looking for anyone

To fill the empty void.

Once upon the sound

Death was wondering along

She came across the shadow

And asked her what was wrong.

Once upon the moon

The shadow discouraged said

You had better stay away

Because of my darkness they fled.

Once upon the night

Death understood her sorrow

Death took her hand and walked

The shadow following in tow.

Once upon the light

The shadow didn’t understand Death

Didn’t see why she wasn’t afraid

When all the others wouldn’t listen to a single breath.

Once upon the ground

Death brought them to her safe place

The shadow voiced her confusion

Death answered with grace.

Once upon a time

Darkness was my friend

When all the others left us for the light

I promised on me she could depend

So here we are tonight

No matter who comes or goes

You can stay here with me

For us this is home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Lopez

I used to always love to write, but never really put in the time. I am excited to start dedicating myself to writing, and improving my style overtime.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.