Poets logo

dark door

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

I went through it once

to welcome you to my world

you were tough, inaccessible

with thick armour on your back;

when I look at my couch now

where you were sitting

and talked, and talked, and talked

your WORDS

pierced like bullets

through my ears and heart;

somehow

your face is still there

locked in my thick lenses

reflecting a blurred view from the start

which later became clear

after a series of close encounters

in person or by telephone

in homes and on the streets

next to or near the truck

when you smoked a cigarette and I despised it

however, I have learned to love it

since you did;

now I have to feed on the stories of others

each time from a different state of mind

like a NY girl on the run

after her man

where are you now?

looking at your flaws and mine

we should get along fine

yet somehow

you have become a silent radio

without music, no words fly under the roof

my living room

is empty like an after-season dune

all I have now

is this dark door

behind which I left your soul –

soaring softly seaboard sight

without any bearing, beautiful boy

-

for M.

-

(2022 – 2023)

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.