Poets logo

Danse Distraire

Dancing with Distraction

By Natasja RosePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8
Danse Distraire
Photo by Rachel Martin on Unsplash

Distractions whirl, no two the same

Interest and novelty, knowledge and game.

Sensations overwhelm, and you need a break

Thoughts fragments surge, but never a full thought make.

Running through your imagination, unfocussed, wild,

A way to calm your mind, like soothing a child.

Calming distractions, a needed reprive

Thinking can wait, you need rest to thrive.

Innovation, invention, ingenuity alights

Other ideas form, the mind clear of distraction

No more brain clutter, until next it loses traction.

inspirationalchildrens poetry
8

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Calming and a wonderful way to be centered to start the day

  • Ah, that driving need for rest (which might explain why I sometimes have trouble falling asleep at night--I just want it too much!). The bane of creativity, the need for just one more word, the right word, the only word. Go to bed, gosh darn it! (I never seem to listen to me.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.