Poets logo

Dancing With Distraction

I'm Sorry, What Were You Saying?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
22
Dancing With Distraction
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

D ancing with distraction, dabbling desires overload

I nvoluntary movements, as I lose my self-control

S waying to the beat designed to divert and railroad

T wirling with the master of disorders mother lode

R ocking to the rhythm, reaching deep inside my head

A lways a step away from anywhere I ever planned

C avorting carefreely to the whims of looming dread

T ripping totally off course, and completely out of hand

I mmediately I'm alerted to the distractions taking place

O scillating like a fan, I turn, alerted to its pace

N avigating me, till once again I see, the look of pure confusion on my face.

surreal poetry
22

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    I’ve found a new author that I feel eager to explore!! Subscribed and insights. Of course a heart. ‘T wirling with the master of disorders mother lode R ocking to the rhythm, reaching deep inside my head A lways a step away from anywhere I ever planned …’ I think a different take than you expected? I have a visceral response because this reminds me so much of when I’m Dissociating (I have Bipolar 1 Rapid Cycling and Complex PTSD.) I’m in the grip of Dissociation at the moment and my distraction has been reading on Vocal. I even wrote something and that was unexpected! Only if you have time, I’d really love you to read my entry into the ‘Sensational Challenge? https://vocal.media/poets/a-sensory-selection If you find your way there can you make sure to provide a read for me with a link? Pauline 🌸

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    I applaud thr visual format of your poem and the cadence with which you twirl us around in this dance of yours 🤗

  • I didn't say anything. But you pretty much just described the way I dance, at least that's what my wife says.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Very well done.

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Brilliant

  • Nice work ❤️‼️

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    My work day, defined! Good one, Kelli!

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    I relate so much to this!!❤️

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    I LOVE IT!!!

  • Jason Ray Morton 11 months ago

    That's a great take on the challenge. Loved the image you chose.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Now we're getting into it! And so well put "A lways a step away from anywhere I ever planned"

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Gorgeous

  • Beautifully written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.