Poets logo

Daddy, When Are You Coming Home?

An Acrostic

By Geno C. ForalPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3

Daddy, when are you coming home?

I didn't get to say goodbye,

Sometimes I hear mommy moan,

Teardrops always fill her eyes,

Remember when you promised me,

A song that you would always sing to me,

Count on you until the end,

This heartbreak seems to never mend.

I now can eat without mom's help,

Oatmeal, pizza, all by myself,

Naïve, I know, to want you home; I wish you never looked at your phone.

—GCF, May 27, 2023

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
3

About the Creator

Geno C. Foral

Husband of a beautiful wife. Father of a magical daughter. Student of clinical psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Heartfelt. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.