Poets logo

Dad

by Mel

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

I remember

the way we used to dance around the kitchen

as your music played on the radio.

I remember the long walks we used to take

whenever we were hungry,

or just needed something to do.

I remember the way

you used to write down every song I loved

whenever it played on the radio,

promising to burn me a CD later.

I still have those CDs;

even if I can't listen to them,

anymore,

without crying.

Holding them close to my heart,

for generations to come,

honoring your memory just being able to

hold them in my hand.

I remember.

After all these years,

I remember.

I remember the way you used to type away

on your computer,

like you were in your own world.

I remember the writings you used

to keep dear to your heart.

I remember the games you used to

be obsessed with;

I always tried to understand them,

and you always tried to explain them

to me.

I remember.

After all these years,

I remember.

See, dad.

It wasn't all bad news.

Not everything broke my heart.

I always love how I can weigh

the good over the bad;

no matter how bad.

See, dad.

I never forgot about you,

even when I felt like you've

forgotten about me.

I never forgot

the long walks we took

in the afternoons,

the dances in the kitchen

as you played your CDs on the player;

I never forgot.

I remember.

After all these years,

those are the memories I always

hold dear to my heart.

After all these years,

whenever all I want to do is fall down

and cry,

those are the memories I replay over

and over again

in the back of my mind.

See, dad.

It wasn't all bad.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Beautiful...some old things are lost forever. Read mine https://vocal.media/fiction/zoe-delaney-s-strange-dream

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.