Poets logo

Dad

A Tribute to Who He Was

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Dad
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

I remember him as a hard man

a man of many trades

he worked hard on the railways

yet he loved the job

he gave me a name

and held me high

sat me right upon his knee

knowing I would not fall

lifted me up with his mighty arm

with one arm flew me up in the air

left me wondering at times but

when I called him he was there

Told me "go to college"

and "be independent"

liked my poetry and gave company

fixing a meal those yams, corn

beef ribs, white rice, cornbread and sweet potatoes pie

Made leftovers to come again

Share a story about how times were back then

when money valued was low and people worked for what they wanted

All sportsman-track, football, biking, judo and wrestling

Travel the country to fulfilled his dream

showing me how to be a man

how to interest some ladies

Asked about going to church

loved to hear Heavenly singing and boundless preaching

Yes my Dad will be forever kept in memory of our hearts

love poems
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.