Poets logo

Cutting Cords

Breaking free from the chains of a loveless lie.

By dre.amerwithapenPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Cutting Cords
Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

I want to heal so I am determined to remove every trace of you from my life

Throwing away clothes you gave me

Forgiving myself for the mess I made in even letting you in

And deluding myself into feeling safe

With who I knew in my gut was an unsafe person

All along.

Trying to heal from the throng of painful thoughts, images, and memories

That came from our regretful union.

You with your lies, your gaslighting,

Manipulating

And deceptive con you called love.

Because if you really loved me, you would have respected me whenever I said no…

But you only did so when it was convenient to you.

And for months I have felt the flames of your obsessive energy

Consuming my mind

Filling me with anger and fear….

The anger was because you took things from me I held very dear.

And the fear was because of your unhealthy obsession with me.

But now that I’ve cut cords

And every trace of you dissipates from my very being

I am free of you.

I am free of your dark and twisted clutches

Attempting to claw at me from the abyss.

Thank God that I am free of you

And I am free from the habits that created you.

surreal poetryslam poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

dre.amerwithapen

Life is too short to not spend it doing what you love. And that is why I write. Because I have a continuous burning fire and love for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was a very powerful poem! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.