Poets logo

Crying

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
42
Clancy & his mother. The Midnight Gospel

Mother,

Why is it so hard to see the end of the story and turn the page

Knowing it’s done?

You’re everything

And I knew it all along in my heart.

Tears are apart of me, apart of you,

Apart of us,

You stitched my tears and your tears together

With heart beats of a mommy’s love,

Oh mommy, don’t go,

I love you, you know.

My heart feels cracked open and exposed

Can we rewrite the book and add more chapters,

Please?

I’m your son,

And we are irrevocably bonded as mother and child,

Stitched like God’s green and blue

And we are our big blue,

Crying is our way to keep human

And to show our heavenly hue.

Mom, you’re here, living in my heart forever.

I love you.

heartbreak
42

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Sad and wonderful at the same time. Such a beautiful story.

  • I loved the line crying is our way to keep human! This was such an emotional poem. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Samia Afraabout a year ago

    Grief and loss are some of the most difficult emotions of the rainbow. Thank you for sharing. Beautifully well-written :)

  • Inkweaverabout a year ago

    very sad story loved it.You can visit my profile for amazing stories

  • Babs is correct, it is heartbreaking. But it's also more. The tender expression of love is something that will bless, nurture & sustain him, just as his mother's love has always done before.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking!!! Left a heart💖

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Awh so sad, but super well written ❤️

  • Kat The Girlabout a year ago

    Wow, beautiful. I also love the picture to go along with it. Big Midnight Gospel fan. Congrats!

  • Aiden Bliskiabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece, congratulations.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Beautiful and heartfelt ❤️ ♥️ Congratulations on your top story ❤️

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Beautiful and so touching! I was really moved by your words. Congrats on tops story, Melissa!

  • Congratulations 🎉 🎉🎉✨✨✨✨🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. Incredible piece, Melissa. Congrats on the well deserved TS

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratualtions on your Top Story!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Nice! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Beautifully stated! Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story Sis , love it

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Tribute to the unbreakable bond between a mother and her child, even after death.💗💗💗

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    There is so much expressed in this. What a powerful piece

  • ❤️😉

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Turning the page at the end of a story does often present challenges. It takes a lot of growth and work to learn to become detached to outcomes and circumstances.

  • This is the second time today I find myself thinking of the children's book, "I'll Love You Forever". "I'll love you forever. I'll like you for always. As long as I'm living, my baby you'll be." The refrain gets repeated with each turn of the page until the end, when the mother is dying, her son repeats her words ending with, "my mother you'll be." I would describe your poem as most touching.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Beautiful, Kendall. ❤️

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Rather moved by this one... ;)

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Sweet 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.