Poets logo

"Crippled Hearts"

A Mother's Love for Her Crippled Boy

By Customizedsongwriter Mike McCrackenPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Customizedsongwriter recites  Crippled Hearts

Out of My Book: Love and Tears

Please don’t hate me

Can’t help the way I am

I use to be happy

Now, I understand

My friend has one eye

Yes, he is different too

Didn’t know one eye

Can cry as much as two

I wish you could hear

The hurt you put us through

Our Loneliness and fear

Yes, we have feelings too

Because we are different

You sit and stare

Your message is sent

You don’t want us here

Go hide in the closet

I heard someone say

A slow girl don’t forget

“Mommy sent me away”

The world is missing

The love we can give you

Please won’t someone listen?

Crippled hearts need love too.

A mother of a child with special needs poured her heart out to me. She wants the world to know that they have hearts and they are human, too. The world tries to get rid of them because they are crippled, look different, or are mentally disabled. It’s easier just to push them aside, hide them in a closet, or get rid of them. A real mother’s love is crying out to the world. Won’t someone listen?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.