Poets logo

As I Cry Out...

By Lenora Altom

By Lindsey AltomPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
As I Cry Out...
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

All I ever wanted was to please you, impress you. I was never enough.

My child, you've always been enough for me.

My sisters were always the daughters you wanted, not me. I am your bastard child. I was conceived in the dark of night with a man you now love to hate.

I have always wanted you. You were conceived for a reason, you have always had a purpose.

You have constantly shown me how I am an outsider and was never meant to be a part of your true family.

You will always be mine. You've been mine since your very first heartbeat.

I know now that just the sight of me has infuriated you all these years. I look just like him after all. I must remind you of him so it's easy to hate me in replacement of him.

You, my child, are fearfully and wonderfully made.

God! Why does the very one that birthed me treat me this way? I do not understand what I did that was so wrong.

This is not on you my child, this is a pain, a fear, and a hate that has dripped down from generations prior. This darkness and trauma drips down like blood on a murderer's hand.

How do I stop it?

You love deeply, admit your wrongs, and always strive to improve yourself. Remember not to take life too seriously. After all, your life on Earth is just a passing through for your soul to learn and grow my child.

Amen.

heartbreakFamily

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've written songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    Wow beautifully written

  • Manisha Dhalani5 days ago

    Brilliant writing

  • Very good 😊💕

Lindsey AltomWritten by Lindsey Altom

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.