Poets logo

Creature of the Night

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
20

I have become a creature of the night

No longer sleeping to meet the dawn

But instead spending my days anticipating

The velvety darkness and the stillness of the night

Desiring the sultry blanket of nothingness

That only comes when the shadows overcome

And soothe like a balm

The burns and blisters from the heat of the day

I now crave moonlight and quiet

More than sunlight and chaos

I endlessly watch the clock

Waiting for dusk to start its creeping journey

Down the horizon into the night

I love the darkness and the energies that arise

And come to me with the

Slow descent of the Sun

Surrounding me with comfort, love and guidance

When all lights are extinguished

Except for possibly a beautifully scented candle

Flickering on the nightstand

Gardenia, Lavender or a deep and musky Patchouli

Wafting through the air

Summoning dreams, memories and desires

I did not know were within me

Fueled with a cool glass of wine

And soft music in the background

Leonard Cohen or Tom Waits

My heart pounds to the strains and

I want to shout and sing

Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

I let the darkness overcome me

I let it

Swallow me

Drown me

Seduce me

Reduce me

Spit me out and make me whole again

Until I drift off

Only to be aroused at

The witching hour

My mind full of thoughts

Realization of truths

And love

I have become a creature of the night

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Jane Edmonds7 months ago

    That was brilliant so expressive.

  • Meena Maya Rai7 months ago

    Such a poetic verse..loved your beautiful poem Mrs. O'Hara

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem and I love the smell of Gardenia, Lavender and a deep musky Patchouli! My absolute favored smells!!!! 💚🩷💙♥️💜❤️🪬

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    I always felt more alive after the sun settled and the moon took over. There's just something magical about the moon.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I love the night, especially with a view of the sky.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    I am a night owl too🦉 Daytime can suck it!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯♥️🎉

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    I used to like the night when I was younger but now, it just sends me to sleep. On the sofa. Now I'm an older woman, I prefer the dawn especially the light and the colours in the sky. Makes me feel alive and energised. I quite like that. Great poem!

  • Julia Schulz7 months ago

    I am definitely a night owl and have dealt with insomnia most of my life, but I also allow myself more creativity at night. (Appreciate Leonard and Tom, too!)

  • J. Delaney-Howe7 months ago

    I like the dark better too. Peaceful, quiet. Enveloping. Nice work.

  • Some wonderful dark poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.