Poets logo

Veil of Glass

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2

Sometimes it feels like I am stuck inside a beautiful house

Watching the glory of heaven

Float by through a big picture window

Looking out onto a beautiful field of flowers

Or sometimes I see the ocean rapturously slapping against the beach

Or a dense forest of trees motioning me to come out and play hide and seek

And although I am comfortable, warm and safe here within these walls

I see you out there, on the other side of this veil of glass

Wanting to hold me as much as I want to hold you

And the loneliness in my soul is so overwhelming

I should be with you

You should be with me

But I still have chores to do in this house called life

I’m still cleaning up and clearing karma

Righting wrongs I have done, making amends

Simple earthly endeavors I must complete before

I can go outside and live the beautiful existence

Of eternity with you

My celestial reward

So, I press my palms against the cool pane of glass between us

Beckoning you to come place your hands against mine

Between the here and the there

And I see you look at me with such longing

A longing I know you see mirrored in my eyes

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Jane Edmonds7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing. I loved reading your poem, wonderful.

  • Julia Schulz8 months ago

    Nice work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.