Poets logo

Creative Constipation

A submission for the Sensational challenge.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
31
Creative Constipation
Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Screen glares, accusing

Cursor blinks at me, smirking

A mocking Cheshire cat smile

Blank page taunts me

Pen hard and unforgiving in my hand

Brain stutters

Keys clack

Cacophony of excitement

clickety clackety clickety

Bitten back by the delete key

Clack. Clack. Clack. Clack.

Strain of creative constipation

Smell of failure

Bitter tang of defeat

Close the lid

Put away the pen

Shuffle off to bed

A whole day

Nearly no words written

Nothing coming out.

Frustrated.

Disappointed.

But what if

This isn't creative constipation

What if it's the birth of an Idea?

Labour and sweat to bring it out

But most of all

Remember to breathe

Remember to read

Give it room and let it come

If you force it

It might just be shit

But either way

It might help to work it out with a pencil

+++++++

Thank you for reading. Feeling frustrated today. Today was a slow day. The first slow day in ages. Going to marinate in my own juices for a day or two. Read lots and drink lots of tea. See what happens.

If you, like me, occasionally feel creatively constipated, here's what I do about it:

inspirational
31

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I've been feeling the constipation lately as well, lol. Loved how you expressed this so easily :) Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Hahahaha! So clever and relatable. Thank you for the humor. And congrats!

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    This sounds very familiar... Ha, ha... Great Top Story, L.C.!

  • Carol Townend12 months ago

    This sounds just like me when my mind goes blank! Excellent, and brilliant description.

  • Heather N King12 months ago

    I love this! So relatable. Such an entertaining read!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Funny and relatable 😊

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Love this, L.C.!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    So clever, great moments of self-awareness, and I love the humor in your word play. “Close the lid”—lol. I totally get why you got TS, and congrats!

  • The Dani Writer12 months ago

    Ohhh. Emmm. GEEEE!!! This is PRECIOUS! This is the epitome of why writers are so legitimately badass creatives. This poem is dope as in *double snaps* Top Story earned status cuz you werked-ahhh!

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    "It might help to work it out with a pencil." The image in my mind's eye is so wrong, yet so fitting 🤣

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    If you force it It might just be shit But either way It might help to work it out with a pencil. Love this. great job and congrats on top story.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉✨

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    😆 love this! that last line joke is in my draft novel!! It was one of my Dad's old jokes. "What did the accountant do when they were constipated?" Was the opener. Smiling a lot now. 🥰❤

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Sad but true - this is us trying to do what we like - well written!

  • Omgggg soooo true! If forced, it'll just be shit. I too always marinate like you do, lol!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Great poem! I’m searching my house now for cameras! Lol. I can relate. 😎

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    So relatable. :) "If you force it It might just be shit"...perfect words! 😅

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Fresh, Brilliant & Inspiring! I love it! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Disgusting! Appropriately disgusting imagery and a laxative for too solid words stuck in too rigid minds. Now I'm relieved, thanks L.C.! 💩📜

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Ah, the dreaded pencil. I should probably learn to use it. It would probably delay my impending mental breakdown. lol

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Hahahaha I will now be using the phrase creative constipation regularly. The last line got me 🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.