Poets logo

Cosmic Silence

Abandoned by Choice

By Collin MarreroPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Listen...

As the cosmic silence

Presses firmly upon your ears.

It’s deafening pressure

Making my ears warm

As if bleeding.

Overwhelming is the lack of sound.

I am almost startled

When the sound of my own breath

Bellows from my lungs,

Trying hard not to scream, laugh or cry.

What just happened?

Did I just die

Or see my life flash before my eyes?

Or was it yours?

Was the flash multi-colored

Or was it crimson red?

It wasn’t me taking any life

But you,

Taking what was left of my heart

And pushing its contents through the shaft of a syringe.

Painless for me

But euphoric for you.

I’m left on the ground

While your takeoff leaves heat, hurt

And the loss of my breath.

Oh, and that cosmic silence.

As I stand watching you ascend to the stars...

I crumble once my breath returns.

Nothing left but tears and scars.

Cosmic silence...

With you in the stars.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.