Poets logo

Consume Me

Poem

By PoetsClosetPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I slept a dream tonight

I slept to feel a dream wrap me

I took to fly tonight

I needed to have the thought grab me

I needed some love tonight

I needed to see it consume me

I need to know it can shine at night

Not just when the room is empty

I needed to hear a voice

Not just the one in my head

Telling me to make a choice

In the bed that I’ve made

I needed to know I live

Even though I’m dead inside

Haven’t in many years

To the pain that I hide

I needed to have a need

For I have nothing more I want

What causes the seize inside

I will always be on the haunt

What had become inside

I had no clue I was want

But now I have the need to take sides

To chase all that I taunt

The need to consume

Everything that I’m missing

To feel it again

The thing I heard listening

To the sound of my soft cries

To the sound of my soul

To the sound of the need

That once made me whole

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

PoetsCloset

Even our darkest days will see the brightest light. A poet and a person with so much on her mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.